Missouri State Public Defender Commission

The governing body of the Missouri State Public Defender System is a Commission appointed by the Governor. The term of office of each commissioner is six years or until a successor is selected. Commissioners may succeed themselves.

The Public Defender Commission is responsible for the hiring of the State Public Defender Director. They also, with the assistance of the Director, determine the philosophy of the State Public Defender System. They review the budget request prepared by the Director and provide support of the request before the legislature. They make any rules needed for the administration of the State Public Defender System.

Current Commissioners

Party Affiliation
H. Riley Bock, Chair New Madrid 1/7/14 to 1/6/20 Democrat
Charles R. Jackson, Vice Chair Jefferson City 7/17/14 to 7/16/20 Democrat
Craig Chval, Secretary Columbia 7/17/14 to 7/16/20 Independent
A. Crista Hogan
Springfield 7/17/14 to 7/16/20 Republican
Michael Barrett Columbia Ex-Officio Member

H. Riley Bock, ChairRiley Bock, Chair
A fifth-generation attorney, Riley Bock is a life‐long resident of New Madrid, MO, a graduate of the University of Missouri, and a former Captain in the Missouri National Guard. He served as the New Madrid County elected Prosecuting Attorney for four terms while also maintaining a small civil practice representing a number of county and regional public entities. Post‐retirement from private practice and prosecution, he served as the New Madrid County Public Administrator for five years and taught American History, English Composition, and Literature at the New Madrid County Central High School. He has also served on a number of boards and commissions, including The State Historical Society of Missouri, the Trail of Tears National Advisory Board, the Board of Directors for Camp Marymount, The Optimist Club, and the New Madrid Historical Museum. He is currently the president of the Three Rivers College Foundation Trust and serves as both volunteer and chair of the Higgerson School Historical Site, a one‐room school that once served the Higgerson Landing community along the Mississippi River. Mr. Bock was appointed to the Public Defender Commission in January, 2014, and is in his first term as Chair.

Charles Jackson, Vice ChairCharles R. Jackson, Vice Chair
One of Missouri’s first African‐American highway patrolmen, Charles Jackson spent 30 years in law enforcement. During that time, he rose to serve as the Captain and Commanding Officer of Troop F, the Patrol’s Director of Public Information, and Director of the State Traffic Division before topping off his career with a gubernatorial appointment to serve as Missouri’s Director of the Department of Public Safety. In that role, he oversaw 15,000 employees and administered a $600 million budget spanning Missouri’s Highway Patrol, Water Patrol, Capitol Police, State Fire Marshall, Alcohol and Tobacco Control Division, Veteran’s Commission, Gaming Commission, the State Emergency Management Agency, and the Missouri National Guard. He also developed Missouri’s statewide “Amber Alert” system and was granted national security secret clearance from the Department of Homeland Security. A graduate of the FBI National Academy and the U.S. Army War College as well as Lincoln University, Mr. Jackson is a past President of the Association of Retired Missouri State Employees and served on Advisory Boards to both Fulton State Hospital and the University of MO School of Social Work. He currently resides in Jefferson City, MO and is the founder and current pastor of The Guiding Light Missionary Baptist Church of Christ in Fulton, MO. Mr. Jackson was appointed to the Public Defender Commission in July, 2014, and is in his first term as Vice Chair.

Craig Chval, SecretaryCraig Chval, Secretary
A graduate of the University of Notre Dame and Illinois Institute of Technology/Chicago‐Kent College of Law, Craig Chval is Associate General Counsel for Veterans United Home Loans in Columbia, MO. He began his practice of law as a civil trial associate in Chicago, before joining the prosecuting attorney’s office in Illinois’ second‐largest county of DuPage, where he became chief of the gang crimes prosecution unit. He went on to serve as Special Counsel and Criminal Justice Policy Advisor to the Illinois Attorney General, and staffed the Governor’s Commission on Street Gangs, ultimately becoming the first executive director of the Illinois Gang Prevention Center, which developed and implemented pilot gang‐prevention programs across Illinois. In 2002, he accepted a position with the National Association of Attorneys General in Washington, D.C., where he reviewed and developed legislative proposals for Congress and assisted in the development of cybercrime training for prosecuting attorneys. When his wife accepted a faculty position at the University of Missouri, he joined the Office of the Missouri Attorney General. There he led a unit specializing in the investigation and prosecution of computer‐related crimes. A founding member of the National Steering Committee for the FBI’s Regional Computer Forensic Laboratory program, he became a well‐known author and presenter on topics pertaining to cybercrime, electronic discovery, and data management and security. Upon leaving the Attorney General’s Office, he co-founded the Chval Law Group in Columbia, MO specializing in legal issues pertaining to computer security. In 2011, he made the move to Veterans United. Mr. Chval was appointed to the Public Defender Commission in July, 2014, and is in his first term as Secretary.

Crista HoganA. Crista Hogan
Named one of Springfield’s 20 Most Influential Women by the Springfield Business Journal, Crista Hogan is the Executive Director of the Springfield Metropolitan Bar Association. Prior to accepting that appointment in 2001, Crista served as Vice President of Hogan Land Title Company and as Corporate Counsel for O’Reilly Automotive. She also owned and operated RCT Realty as well as maintaining a solo legal practice for three years, where she specialized in real estate, estate planning, and probate. She taught Managerial Economics and Personal Effectiveness as an adjunct professor in Webster University’s MBA program and served on Webster University’s Advisory Board. She is a past President of the Springfield Junior League, PAGE (Parents and Advocates of Gifted Education), and the Kitchen Foundation, as well as former Chair of the Greene County Young Republicans. She has served on the Board of Directors for the Ozarks Literacy Council, Habitat for Humanity, TARGET, and the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, and was appointed by Governor Blunt to the Hispanic Business Trade and Culture Commission. She is the recipient of a Luminary Award from the National Association of Bar Executives and a Community Leader Award from the Daughters of the American Revolution. Ms. Hogan holds degrees from George Washington University and Tulsa University and is a graduate of the Greater Ozarks Leadership Development Program. She was appointed to the Public Defender Commission in July, 2014.